University of Southampton

The University of Southampton (informally known as Southampton University, abbreviated as Soton) is a public university located in Southampton, United Kingdom. Southampton is a research intensive university and a founding member of the Russell Group of elite British universities.

The origins of the university are dated back to the founding of the Hartley Institution in 1862 following a legacy to the Corporation of Southampton by Henry Robertson Hartley. In 1902, the Institution developed into the Hartley University College, with degrees awarded by the University of London. On 29 April 1952, the institution was granted a Royal Charter to give the University of Southampton full university status. It is a member of the European University Association, the Association of Commonwealth Universities and is an accredited institution of the Worldwide Universities Network.

Rank 2014 Rank 2013 Rank 2012 Teaching Score Careers Prospects Entry Tariff
24 22 28 70.9 66 438
Distance To London By Train By Car
Mile / Time 2 Hours 80 Mile/1.30 Hours
21-22 Old Steine Brighton East Sussex BN1 1EL / 2013-2014 FSS (Fast Student Services) all rights reserved.